PRLTAP History


The Puerto Rico Transportation Technology Transfer Center was created on April 1, 1986 in the Department of Civil Engineering and Surveying of the University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez Campus. Initially, the Center was part of the Federal Highway Administration Rural Technical Assistance Program (RTAP) that emphasized technical assistance to local transportation officials in rural communities. With the approval of the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act (ISTEA) in 1991, the program was changed to the present Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP) and included technical assistance to urban areas with an expansion of the network to 58 Centers (one in each state, seven in tribal communities and our Center).



Our Center was originally part of the Region 1 of the Federal Highway Administration geographical division that included the states located in the Northeastern portion of the United States.  Since 2002, as part of the reorganization of the Federal Highway Administration the Center is part of the Southeastern region with the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.

The Centers of Region 4 collaborate in organizing regional meeting and conferences and in sharing technology transfer materials and instructors.  At the national level, the LTAP Centers are coordinated by the Federal Highway Administration with the assistance of the American Public Works Association Clearinghouse and the National Association of Transportation Technology Transfer Centers. At the local level, our Center receives assistance and guidance from an Advisory Committee consisting of members from the Federal Highway Administration, the Puerto Rico Department of Transportation and Public Works, the US Virgin Islands Department of Public Works, the Office of the Commissioner of Municipal Affairs, and other agencies that deal with municipal and transportation issues.


LTAP Centers by Region
 Eastern Tribal Technical
Serving Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia and Wisconsin.
 Mountain West Tribal Western Tribal Plains Tribal
Serving Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico and Utah. Serving California and Nevada. Serving Montana, Wyoming and the Dakotas.
Alaska Tribal Northwest Tribal Southern Plains Tribal
 Serving Alaska.  Serving Idaho, Montana (Western), Oregon and Washington. Serving Kansas, Nebraska (Southern), Oklahoma and Texas.
Hawaii Local Technical Assistance Program
 Serving Hawaii.